Hortus Botanicus, Amsterdam

In Amsterdam the weather is cold, rainy and misty. Nature looks grey, no leafs on the trees, no green. It is almost winter time. I miss the tropical weather and the green nature, but… no problem, I just went to Hortus Botanicus.

Hortus Botanicus is one of the oldest botanic gardens in the world. Today, there are more than 4.000 plant species growing in the garden and greenhouses.

Because my focus is on Asia I was curious what kind of Asian flowers and trees I would find in Hortus Botanicus.

When I stepped in the tropical section of the greenhouse I was surprised. The greenhouse looks like a real tropical jungle and even feels like a tropical jungle, hot and humid. So great… The plants and trees are beautiful and so green, like Asia. I’m happy…

I made a lot of photo’s, just too much to show.

Better is, if you are going to Amsterdam, to visit this beautiful place.

More info about Hortus Botanicus you will find on: www.dehortus.nl

Hortus Botanicus Amsterdam

Plantage Middenlaan 2a
Amsterdam
T. +31 (0)20 6259021

In the back, the gorgeous museum cafe The Orangery

Inside the butterfly greenhouse

Inside the the tropical section of the greenhouse


One response to “Hortus Botanicus, Amsterdam

Leave a Reply

